Rest in the Wonder

It’s no small wonder that when I do things for God on my own I fall  f l a t  o n  m y  f a c e.

It’s no small wonder that when I try to find my own way that I only  g e t  t e r r i b l y   l o s t.

It’s no small wonder that when I love out of my self that it b e c o m e s  s e l f i s h n e s s.

It’s no small wonder that when I try to control my future that I  a m  c o n s t a n t l y  a n x i o u s.

It’s no small wonder that when I focus on life’s problems it becomes a g i a n t  p i t t y  p a r t y.

It’s no small wonder that when I look only at my own deficiencies that I  q u e s t i o n  H i s  g r a c e.

It’s no small wonder that with all of this I am only  r  e  s  t  l  e  s  s.

But when I take the gaze away from me (because I am not worthy of all the attention I give myself) and focus on who He is,

I  a m  f i l l e d  w i t h  w o n d e r.

He whispers,

 I love you my child.

Hope in me.

Trust me completely.

Surrender.

I love you, I love you, I love you.

rest

rest

r e s t.

Rest in the Wonder – Steve Green

Who heard You speak a word and watch the earth take form,
When out of nothing You created all we know?
Who saw the radiant glow of dawn on that first morn,
As beams of light shone upon the infant globe?
Oh, the vast and secret depths
The pleasure of Your will
When we reach our frail limits
We trust You still

We rest, rest in the wonder
Of all that You are
Fall down and worship You
We rest, rest in the wonder
Of all that You are
Fall down and worship You

Before the world began or earth’s foundations laid
What did You see in us to draw Your loving gaze?
Though every heart would be a rebel throne
You set affection on this ruined soul
Oh, the vast and secret depths
The pleasure of Your will
When we reach our frail limits
We trust You still

We rest, rest in the wonder
Of all that You are
Fall down and worship You
We rest, rest in the wonder
Of all that You are
Fall down and worship You

What joy awaits your chosen bride
When heav’n and earth are new
Till every groan caused by the fall
Just fades away in You…

We rest, rest in the wonder
Of all that You are
Fall down and worship You
We rest, rest in the wonder
Of all that You are
Fall down and worship You

IMG_1476

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have you reached your frail limits? He calls you to abide in His love.  R e s t.

One thought on “Rest in the Wonder

leave a calling card

