Bible. Camp. 2013

242

 I’ve really been wanting to get back into blogging. 

It’s hard to know just how to get back into blogging…so, so much has happened in my life since I blogged last on August 19, 2013.  Where do I begin or find the words? I finally decided that posting a few pictures of Bible Camp is a good place to start.

We had just got back from the States last week when we were asked if we wanted to help out with GTO’s Bible Camp the following week. At first Kelci and I were firmly resolved that there was no way we were going… we were physically and emotionally exhausted! But after a good deal of nudging from both God and our brother Austin we reluctantly gave in even though we had no idea why or how.

And now I am so glad we did because I learned so much about God being my strength and the power of prayer. (& we had tons of fun)

So…here we are getting ready to head out Monday morning.

IMG_8408

And after two-and-a-half bumpy hours on the back of the Song Thaew we made it to the village of Nong Tao…
IMG_8431

IMG_8453

…and started having fun right away. 🙂

IMG_8455

IMG_8464

[they loved UNO]

IMG_8467

And here is Annie and I’s lovely group of team sii faa [blue] girls…we had such a blast together!

255

Dishes… everyone’s favorite job, of course!

IMG_8474

The building on the left is where most of us girls stayed and the building on the right is where the English and Bible sessions would happen.

IMG_8486

Jessida, one of the “sii faa” boys. Also probably the craziest kid I’ve ever met. He is undeniably awesome. =]

IMG_8500

Bible Camp could also be entitled “Make Fun of The Foreigners Week.”
IMG_8501

IMG_8498

On and Boui. Both on my team and both heart thieves.

IMG_8630

Crazy. Crazy. Times.

“sii faa suu suu!” 

IMG_8637

IMG_8638

Teaching English.

IMG_8642

and yes those blankets & hoodies are because it really was cold.

IMG_8643

IMG_8650

IMG_8652

IMG_8517

IMG_8519

And more English teaching [seriously, these girls just crack me up].

IMG_8525

Boui: Loud. Absolutely Adorable. Loud. Boundless Energy.

IMG_8531

Kaew:  Quiet when it comes to English but a general when it comes to washing dishes. Beautiful eyes.

IMG_8533

IMG_8539

Nothing like sitting on the ground to eat rice 3 times a day.

IMG_8542

Dtonah: Such a precious, beautiful girl. Influential. Quiet smile.

IMG_8543

IMG_8544

Oh yes, can’t forget the pigs that gave us heart attacks during the night.

IMG_8554

We had so many good times of singing together throughout the week…
IMG_8560

IMG_8561

In the afternoon it was craft station time!! [each of us leaders had our assigned stations for the week]

Flowers-making was our station and was the place where we perfected the art of flower-making and went  l o o n y  in the process.

IMG_8566

Scissors in a straight line also mean, “Austin has been here.”

IMG_8568

IMG_8580

IMG_8584

IMG_8585

IMG_8605

IMG_8608

So. Many. Goofballs.

IMG_8613

The beautiful Jana…

[suoy, suoy, suoy.]

IMG_8617

And here we are by the end of the week.

This photo was stolen from Zach as evidence of both the afore-mentioned perfected art and  loony-ness.

The bead-making people.

IMG_8621

IMG_8570

On: Little Friend. Master of string tricks. Sweet. Determined. Fun.

IMG_8629

“Praise is due to you, O God, in Zion,
and to you shall vows be performed.
O you who hear prayer,
    t o   y o u   s h a l l   a l l   f l e s h   c o m e.
When iniquities prevail against me,
you atone for our transgressions.
Blessed is the one you choose and bring near,
to dwell in your courts!
We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house,
the holiness of your temple!”

-Psalm 65-

IMG_8628

5 thoughts on “Bible. Camp. 2013

  1. this morning I thought to myself “I hope Monica updates her blog sometime”…and came to check facebook and sure enough she did!! looks like a great time!! the flower station people made me chuckle 🙂 and thanks for sharing Psalm 65 – beautiful.

  2. Hey sis, Great post! Makes me miss those kids already…thought getting woke up at 5:20am isn’t the part I miss the most. 🙂

    PS. Posting regularly is highly recommend, it’s not even hazardous to your health.

  3. Monica, I was happy to see that you posted again, too. 🙂 Looks like an amazing and stretching time. You’ve challenged me to think about the opportunities I’ve lost because I’m tired or “just don’t feel like it.”

    ‘Twas nice to see you the other week! Blessings to you as you keeping reflecting Jesus….

  4. Not sure why it has taken me so long to find your blog once again, but I surely enjoyed it. I think and pray for you often. I really enjoyed to pictures of what you get involved in. I;m glad that you are having fun along with you wonderful work. God bless all of you for your dedication to Him, your family, and your work. I love you all. Blessings and prayers, Grandma

  5. Thanks for the post, Monica! I was on a GTO Charge team that spent a weekend at Nongtao in July…I think I’ll always love that place. Thank you for making it feel a little closer this morning.

leave a calling card

