June Twenty Forth

edit

 

Nineteen years ago today (June 24th, 1995), God gave the gift of Anja to the world.

edit2

This is the first June 24th we’ve had since Anja went to heaven. Kelci and I decided to take the day off to celebrate the abundantly full life Anja lived. We went and found a quiet spot to journal, pray, reminisce, and talk about everything Anja meant to us. We miss her a lot.

I miss her a lot. The pain of losing someone as dear as Anja is not something you get over. But I can testify to God’s healing love in my heart and His gentle comfort.

In the past nine months I have been wrestling through questions like, “is God truly good?” But having wrestled I can say, “yes, God is good.” Not because I understand, not because it is even easy for me to say “God is good”, but because He has given me the grace to proclaim His goodness.

edit3

Excerpt from an email from Anja: [You think this will last through eternity? 😉 Every day we have a decision to draw people towards, or away from Jesus. Maybe sometimes its as simple as a smile and maybe its in the middle of the daily routine to a grumpy family member. I’m not sure we’re called to measure our impact…??? just more continued thoughts on last night’s ‘deep’ discussion which ended in a giggling fit. =D I don’t know….just thinking. (i know it is surprising) Love you guys–and miss you like crazy today. – Anja]

edit4

Anja, I can’t find the words to express myself like I want to. My heart feels so full and so empty as I think of all the dear memories we shared. When we were kids you were my funnest playmate. When we grew up my dear friend and confidant. Oh Anja…you pointed me to Jesus again and again!!!

I miss you. I miss you so, so, so much. And it tears me apart to think of all the things we dreamed of doing that we’ll never be able to do. I’m claiming the Psalm, “for a day in your courts is better then a thousand elsewhere.” What you are experiencing now is faaaar beyond anything I can even begin to imagine. “My heart yearns for the courts of God…” And I yearn for the day that we will praise Jesus together. I love you Anja!

edit5

After sitting down by the river Kelci and I decided to see if we could follow some trails to find a waterfall. Random. But random was what we always did with Anja.

My cousin Linda wrote a beautiful tribute to Anja today… you can read it here:http://whispersofreflections.wordpress.com/2014/06/24/anja-beautiful-woman-of-grace/

My heart is with each one of you who loved Anja dearly. Especially Uncle LaVerne, Aunt Rebecca and family. We love you all so much.

– Monica

4 thoughts on “June Twenty Forth

  1. Not sure how it happened that I looked at your blog this evening. But I know why. I needed to read about what you wrote about Anja. We’ve just passed the 2nd anniversary of her death. And although I’ve been grieving again, I didn’t put anything down in writing. (I’ve been too busy to stop to process/analyse/cry.) So thanks for getting me started down that path! And blessings as you do that too this year!

    BTW, Anja was in my mentoring group, and I loved her dearly. She was in my Spanish class too. How we all miss her!

leave a calling card